Why I Became a Bradley® Natural Childbirth Teacher

It all started when my husband and I were engaged.  You see; he is a chiropractor.  He was going to Palmer Chiropractic College when we were engaged, and he was learning all kinds of natural ideas.  One of the ideas that he learned related to natural childbirth.  

After we were engaged, we discussed what our plans for children would be.  We discussed how many; I always thought I wanted six.  We have half that now 🙂  We discussed our child raising philosophies.   Then, he sprung a new idea on me:  natural childbirth.  He said, “When we have kids, I would like for you to give birth to them without drugs.”  WHAT!  My response was, “It’s my body, and we’ll see about this.” 

As time went by, I chewed over this thought, ruminated if you will.  I had to learn more, and I wasn’t just going to take my fiance’s word for it.  I began to amass books and literature on the subject.  The more I read, the more I was convinced that I wanted to at least give it a try. 

My mother also had a big part in why I chose the Bradley® philosophy of birth over the others.  She actually used the Bradley Method® with the birth of my brother and me (successfully I might add). 

I did all this decision-making before we were even pregnant with our first child, so when we did get pregnant, all we had to do was chose how all the details would play out.  We decided to do a homebirth, and I wasn’t about to do that until I had more education under my belt. 

We chose a Bradley® teacher, but she was almost 2 hours away from us.  We had to travel for our 12 week series, but it was worth it. 

After the birth of our son was so successful in using the method, we decided our immediate area and local county needed a natural childbirth teacher.  The rest is history!    My husband and I have been certified Bradley® instructors for almost 4 years.  We are the only Bradley® teachers in our county, and we are currently teaching our 15th series of classes.

Just so you know, each Bradley® teacher goes through intensive training and is required to re-affiliate each year.  If you want to become a student, you should know that classes run for 12 weeks and last about 2 hours each and cover almost every birth topic imagined.  If you interested in finding a Bradley® teacher in your area or want to find out more about the Bradley Method® visit www.bradleybirth.com

2 thoughts on “Why I Became a Bradley® Natural Childbirth Teacher

Leave a Reply

