“The Power” and Proverbs 31 background

Have a seat.  Grab a cup of coffee or tea or refreshing water.  Join in our discussion.

First off, I want to make an important note that this Bible study should not replace attending a local church.

Hebrews 10:24-25 “And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works: Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.” (KJV)

I’m accustomed to attending church twice a week, but I have a new baby.  On Sunday mornings, I have a nice “cry room” where I can sit with my baby girl without disturbing the service.  I would normally attend a Friday night Bible study, but it just happens to be at my sweet baby’s fussy time.  No one complained or asked me to stop coming, but I spent most of the study doing the “baby dance” and trying to quiet her.

I started this blog Bible study out of my desire to study God’s Word and be in prayer.

So, how was the first section of The Power of a Praying Wife?

Things that touched me:

  1. The fact that we get to take our concerns directly to Jesus is an awesome gift.  Christ did enough by dying on the cross for our sins and allowing us into His heaven.  He is so gracious to give us anything more. Hebrews 4:16 says, “Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.”  What an awesome God we serve who cares about us!
  2. We need to give everything over to Him.  Stormie says that prayer is “laying down all claim to power in and of yourself and relying on God’s power to transform you, your husband, your circumstances, and your marriage.”
  3. Stormie brings up that she found it hard to pray for her husband when she had a wrong heart and attitude.  I have found this to be so true!  I don’t want to pray for my husband, when I’m mad!  I want to brew and stew over it.  When I take it to Jesus in prayer, my heart softens, and I melt into Jesus arms, usually in a puddle of tears.
  4. The results of prayer are up to God!  He’s the Creator of the universe!  We are just people.  Father knows best!  It may not look like it, but he has a plan for your future.

Things that I respectfully disagree with:

  1. “A wife’s prayers for her husband have a far greater effect on him than anyone else’s, even his mother’s.”  I don’t see how or why this would be.  Isn’t the power of our prayer only because of the power of our great God?  Why would my prayer be any more powerful than his mother’s prayer?  James 5:16b “…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”  This verse doesn’t give any distinction between a person’s ranking, standing, marital status, etc.
  2. Stormie mentions that she feels women prayer partners are vital to a marriage.  She does make this better with her statement, “Even without prayer partners or a praying husband, when you pray fervently you’ll see things happen.”  I agree that prayer partners are great, and we should definitely be lifting our brothers and sisters in the Lord up in prayer.  I have seen women especially use the excuse of prayer to share too much information.  They turn their prayer circle into a gossip circle.  This is a good way to create an issue in your marriage.  What husband would feel comfortable attending a church where all the ladies knew all his deepest darkest secrets?  Yes, ask others to pray for you.  Share your burdens, but be wise about the specifics.

Proverbs 31 background:

Proverbs is full of wisdom for practical life.  It is like the walk to our talk.  The book of Proverbs was compiled by Solomon to include many of his words of wisdom and also the wise words of some others.  Ecclesiastes 12:9  “And moreover, because the preacher was wise, he still taught the people knowledge; yea, he gave good heed, and sought out, and set in order many proverbs.”

Proverbs 31:1 says “The words of king Lemuel, the prophecy that his mother taught him.”  The Strong’s dictionary says that Lemuel is a symbolic name of Solomon and means “belonging to God”.  Historians have not found an actual King Lemuel, but that doesn’t mean that he doesn’t exist.  Historians thought that King David was a myth but have since proved his existence.

Your assignment for week 2:  Read Chapter 1 of The Power of a Praying Wife “His Wife”.  What touched you?  Any disagreements?  Pray that you will be the wife that your husband needs.  “If God created a special woman, perfectly suited to be your husband’s helper, would you be that woman?”- Debi Pearl in Created to be His Help Meet.  Also, study and ruminate on Proverbs 31:10.

2 thoughts on ““The Power” and Proverbs 31 background

  1. I am not married, but I have been studying Proverbs 31 because I think those attributes are important for any woman who seeks a godly, useful life. This has truth in it for all of us women, not just the married ones 🙂 Thanks Robin!

Leave a Reply

