“His Temptation” and Proverbs 31:15

The weather is getting colder outside, grab something warm to drink and pull up your easy chair 🙂  I’m drinking my morning coffee, as I type this.  Yes, it’s been a hectic week, and I’m running a little late.

The chapter we read from The Power of a Praying Wife this past week was “His Temptation”.

The first thing that I think of is when this subject arises is my sweet husband being tempted by other women.  Just the thought makes me crazy on so many levels!  Just to clarify, he’s been nothing but faithful and loyal, but I want to keep him that way.

I remember a very wise section in Created to be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl.  Debi is talking about how to try to prevent a husband from cheating.  She says, “You cannot be pitiful enough to force him to love you.”  She also writes, “Your husband is going to love what is lovely.”  In summary, she is saying to fight for your husband and “cultivate his love for you.”  Granted, this is not a guarantee that the man will be won over, but let’s not just sit back and let him slip away.

(Note:  I know that the Pearl’s, Debi and her husband Michael, have been in the news lately for false accusations.  I gladly stand with them.  I’m sure that I’m going on some sort of watch list for mentioning them, but I’m a rebel like that.)

Okay, back to the subject at hand and our chapter.

Things that touched me:

  1. Stormie writes, “Temptation is everywhere today and we’re fools if we think we or our husbands can’t be lured by it in some form or another.”   We need to wake up to the real world and protect ourselves, our husbands, and our precious little ones.  We can’t prevent temptations from coming, but we can prepare ourselves for how we will react.
  2. “The Bible says that God does not tempt us.  It is our desires that draw us away to what entices us.”  This is from James 1:13-15.  We may not outwardly blame God for our temptations, but in our heart we may be bitter that he’s allowed these things to tempt us.  Well, remember that we have a free will, and he wants us to be strong enough to choose Him in the midst of our circumstances.
  3. Remember that “He’ll always give us a way out if we want it badly enough to seek Him for it”  That’s from I Corinthians 10:13.
  4. “The best time to start praying about this is before anything happens.”  Let’s pray that we will be so blessed to avoid many of the troubles of this life.
  5. Stormie wisely reminds us, “If after all your praying your husband still falls into the hands of temptation, do not blame yourself.  The decision is ultimately his.”

Things I respectfully disagree with:

  1. Stormie writes, “Open confession before God and other believers does more to minimize the power of the tempter than anything else.”  My issue with this is the “more…than anything else”.  I think confessing sins to one another is very Biblical and a great tool, but I’m not so sure it is more effective that anything else.

Proverbs 31:15 “She riseth also while it is yet night, and giveth meat to her household, and a portion to her maidens. “

The first thing I notice is that the Proverbs 31 woman is an early riser!  Granted, I have friends who rise hours earlier than I do, but I get up just as early as the husband does for work.  I can’t say that I rise while it is yet night, but the sun definitely stays down longer now that we are getting into fall.  During the summer, one would have to rise about 5 in the morning to get up before the sun and around 6 in the fall/winter.

The virtuous woman is not lazy.  This doesn’t mean that we can’t sleep in once in a while.  What woman doesn’t need a day like that, but I think that this woman gives us an example of the pattern that our lives should follow.  We should have the ambition enough to take the time necessary to provide what is needed for her family (i.e.- give meat to her household and maidens).  The choice to leave the warm comfort of our bed shows discipline and devotion to our family.

Very devoted wives that I know rise very early to provide their husband with breakfast.  I never learned to do this because my husband doesn’t eat breakfast.  I would do it though, if he wanted.  I think that this virtuous woman rises early, with a smile even, to provide nourishment for her family.

My ambitious mother would rise very early to cook breakfast for me and my brother.  She would also get up and exercise before we would wake.  I used to get up and ride my bike around the neighborhood before my husband left for work.  Now that my infant sleeps through the night, I should probably go back to that.  I could get in exercise and quiet time with Jesus, good for body and soul.

She has heeded Proverbs 6:9-11 “How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep?  (10)  Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep:  (11)  So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth, and thy want as an armed man.” and Proverbs 24:30-34  “I went by the field of the slothful, and by the vineyard of the man void of understanding;  (31)  And, lo, it was all grown over with thorns, and nettles had covered the face thereof, and the stone wall thereof was broken down.  (32)  Then I saw, and considered it well: I looked upon it, and received instruction.  (33)  Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep:  (34)  So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth; and thy want as an armed man.”

If you try to accomplish quiet time with Jesus amidst many distractions, focus is hard to achieve.  Mornings are very quiet and peaceful, and it is easier to seek the Lord during this time.

The other thing that I notice is that this wise woman is feeding her family meat.  I’m a firm believer that meat is part of a nutritious diet.  Animal fats help us absorb many good vitamins, fat-soluble vitamins 😉

Your assignment for week 8:  Read Chapter 7 of The Power of a Praying Wife “His Mind”.  What touched you?  Any disagreements?  Pray that God will keep your husband’s mind on things above.  Also, study and ruminate on Proverbs 31:16.

6 thoughts on ““His Temptation” and Proverbs 31:15

  1. She also rises while it is yet night, And provides food for her household, And a portion for her maidservants.

    This is something that I can have a hard time with sometimes. Oh, how my flesh just wants to stay and go back to sleep sometimes. Especially first trimester and post-partum times. But I think there is much to be said about rising early. Not to get another project done or out of the way, but to spend precious time with our Lord. His burden is light and He gives us rest. When we truly put Him first and seek to do His will moment by moment, he gives us the time to accomplish what we need, and as we are teaching and discipling our children we are also hearing the gospel ourselves. I think it would be great to start off the day by providing a nourishing filling meal to my family each morning. I do not have that down at all! But we should also remember we should be feeding our households and are maidservants with the bread of life. Our we living the gospel, are we sharing it the message of life In Christ with our households as the moments come or at regular “meal times” throughout the day? I esteem that and aspire to it. Right now, I’m not doing as good of a job at is as I would like to or should.

    It sort of sounds like you are trying to defend your wake up time. I don’t know if you are or not, but sometimes that is a sign to me that I might need to ask the Lord to show me His ways and break me of my own.

  2. I guess I was trying to soften the blow of conviction on others. I know that American women has been given the idea that it is their right to sleep in, if they want. I wouldn’t say I sleep in, but I guess my personal stories in this post show that I definitely can work a little harder on my morning routine too. I also am so glad we have alarm clocks. The only way I could figure a woman would rise before the sun without an alarm clock would be from years of practice?

  3. Good study. I laughed out loud when I came to the part of about the meat.

    I believe in meat too. Meat is in. (In my belly!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

