“His Fears” and Proverbs 31:17

In these trying times, are you or your loved ones living in fear?  How do we overcome this?  Who can help us find hope and peace through it all?  Psalm 27:1  “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”

The chapter we read from The Power of a Praying Wife was “His Fears”.

Things that touched me:

  1. Stormie writes, “Fear can take hold of a man (Psalm 48:6) and cause his life to be wasted (Psalm 78:33).  If he is ‘seized with great fear’ (Luke 8:37), it can keep him from all God has for him.”  I don’t know about you, but I know quite a few men who are fearful.  I know men who fear the new, the unknown, the economy, the government, sickness, death, and much more.  John 10:10  says, “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”  Let us pray that our husbands will not be caught in the thief’s fearful traps that make them ineffective.  Let us pray that they will live the abundant life.
  2. Stormie shares some encouraging words that were given to her husband.  “‘God has adopted you as His Son,’ he said.  ‘When you’re in the presence of a strong and loving Father, there’s no need to be afraid.'”  Amen!  When we, our husbands or ourselves, realize that our “Abba” is always with us, we have nothing to fear!
  3. “There is a difference between a fearful thought that comes to mind as a prompting to pray for a particular thing, and a tormenting spirit of fear that paralyzes. You don’t want to undermine the promptings of the Holy Spirit to your husband’s heart, but you do want to support him as he battles fear.”  We cannot avoid every fearful thought, but we want to take them all to Jesus.

I don’t have anything new that I respectfully disagree with.  There is a part of the prayer this week where she does the speaking over thing that I brought up last week.

Proverbs 31:17 “She girdeth her loins with strength, and strengtheneth her arms.“

I’m going to start the study of this verse with a few questions.  First off, what does loins mean and what does “girdeth her loins” mean?

According to the Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance, the word “loins” is #4975 “to be slender; the waist or small of the back”

To figure out what “girdeth her loins” means, let’s use the law of first mention to figure it out.  The law of first mention is “the principle that requires one to go to that portion of the Scriptures where a doctrine is mentioned for the first time and to study the first occurrence of the same in order to get the fundamental inherent meaning of that doctrine.”  So, where is this phrase first mentioned?

It was first mentioned in Exodus 12:11 “And thus shall ye eat it; with your loins girded, your shoes on your feet, and your staff in your hand; and ye shall eat it in haste: it is the LORD’S passover.”  In Exodus 12, the Israelites are preparing for Passover and to leave the land of Egypt.  From the context, “gird your loins” seems to be part of the preparation to leave Egypt.  The people were to told by God to be ready at any moment.  Many of the definitions and explanations I found give a more specific explanation that “girding up your loins meant to tie up long, loose clothes so that they were more practical when you were working or traveling.”

So, what does this mean for the virtuous woman?  I think she is ready and prepared with strength.  She is not spiritually or physically lazy.

How could a woman “gird her loins” with spiritual strength?

Paul uses the same phrase in Ephesians 6:14  “Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness.”  So, we can gird our loins with truth!  In other words, we can protect our “spiritual core” or our mind with truth.  Paul agrees with the thought that our “spiritual loins” are our mind in 1 Peter 1:13  “Wherefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and hope to the end for the grace that is to be brought unto you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.”

How can a woman “gird her loins” with physical strength?

I think these verses show that the virtuous woman pays attention to her physical strength and more specifically the strength of her loins (waist and lower back) and arms.  In today’s workout lingo, I think the “loins” would probably be the “core” of our bodies.  I don’t claim to be any kind of fitness expert, so I’ll leave it up to your genius to figure out how to work your core.  I have to throw in that lifting my 6 month old over my head a few times makes my arms tired; she enjoys it too.

I would say that the spiritual aspect of this verse is more important than the physical because other Scriptures indicate this.  1 Timothy 4:8  “For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.”  Now, ladies, that doesn’t mean we should neglect the physical.  I think this Proverbs 31 woman is probably a fine specimen with a lovely figure and definitely a strong core and arms.  I don’t think this woman spends hours in the gym.  She’s amazingly busy doing her duties.  Did you know that hard housework is good exercise?  When was the last time you scrubbed the shower?  I know the last time I did it what I was sweating!  I don’t know about you, but I sure sleep well after a hard days work too.

I think this verse is saying that a virtuous woman never stops learning or striving to be better.  She is the one who is working on being strong and not relying on anyone else, except God.  She is not overwhelmed by her duties but attacks them with wisdom and strength.  She is definitely not lazy but strong!

Your assignment for week 10:  Read Chapter 9 of The Power of a Praying Wife “His Purpose”.  What touched you?  Any disagreements?  Pray that your husband will know his God-given purpose.  Also, study and ruminate on Proverbs 31:18.

One thought on ““His Fears” and Proverbs 31:17

  1. So a different translation of this verse states, “her arms are strong for her tasks.” I remember reading it and praying on and off about two years ago that the LORD would make my arms strong for my tasks. Then he gave me an 11 pound baby. 😀

Leave a Reply

