“His Protection” and Proverbs 31:21

Psalm 18:2  “The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”  In other words, God is our protector!  This our topic this week.

I would like to share a recent story from my personal life:

A few weeks ago, my family was having a casual lunch at the table.  My husband was home on lunch break, and we were discussing the day’s events, as usual.  All of a sudden, we heard a loud boom coming from the front of the house.  I glanced out the front window to see a car wizzing by.  My husband rushed out the front door to find out what happened.

The loud boom was the sound of a car running into a mailbox (the community mailbox).  The car completely destroyed the mailbox, spreading the mail everywhere.  The car also took out some of our neighbor’s shrubs.  Of course, we wondered why someone would do this.

We later found out that the driver had committed a murder across town.  The murder weapon was his CAR!  He drove into our part of town to say goodbye to some family members before he went to jail.  The police were chasing him when he crashed into our mailbox and the neighbor’s bushes.  He later surrendered to the police.

What was the point of all that?  God protected us!  That car could have easily killed someone else!  Thankfully, no one was outside.

If I wasn’t home and didn’t understand what happened, I could have easily been upset that I couldn’t get my mail.  After all, there were a few days that I was unable to get my precious letters.  I think this is how we frequently look at our lives.  We don’t realize the protection that God has given us.  We are just mad about our mailbox, so to speak.   In other words, God is working and protecting us, but we focus on annoyances.

The chapter we read from The Power of a Praying Wife was “His Protection”.

Things that touched me:

  1. Stormie writes “Our husbands are on the battlefield every day.  There are dangers everywhere.  Only God knows what traps the enemy has laid to bring accidents, diseases, evil, violence, and destruction into our lives.  Few places are completely safe anymore, including your own home.  But God has said that even though ‘the wicked watches the righteous, and seeks to slay him, the Lord will not leave him in his hand’ (Psalm 37:32,33).  He promises that He will be a ‘shield to those who put their trust in Him’ (Proverbs 30:5).”  Let us put our dear husbands into God’s hands.
  2. “We don’t even have to think of all the specific dangers, we just ask the Lord to protect them from harm.”  I feel like I’m always worrying.  It’s the sin I struggle with the most.  If I sat down and tried to list everything that could go wrong, I would be really stressed out!  Thankfully, my Heavenly Father knows.
  3. Lastly, it is important to remember that things can still happen.  Stormie reminds us, “And if something happens, you’ll have the comfort of knowing you’ve invited God’s presence and power into the midst of it.”  It’s hard sometimes to know “why” we find ourselves in one circumstance or another.  We may never know the “why” until we enter eternity.  The important thing is for us to use each moment to glorify Jesus.  How can we use our circumstances to glorify him?  What is He teaching me?

I didn’t find anything in this chapter that I respectfully disagree with.

Proverbs 31:21 “She is not afraid of the snow for her household: for all her household are clothed with scarlet.“

The first thing that I see in this verse is the deep spiritual meaning.  We have no need to be afraid of the storms of life (the snow) because we are covered by the protection of Christ and by the forgiveness of His blood (scarlet).

Isaiah 1:18  “Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool”

There was an actual worm that was used to make the scarlet dye.  It’s story is similar to Jesus’ story.  The worm must die to produce the desired result.  In the same way, Jesus’ blood had to be spilled so that we could be clothed in righteousness for all eternity.

Beyond the deep spiritual meaning, I appreciate another little tidbit.  The virtuous woman clothed her family in some color!  Our clothes don’t have to be boring.  Color is good.

Also, as Christian’s we have no reason to fear the storms of life.

Psalm 56:4  “In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.”

2 Timothy 1:7  “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

Philippians 4:11-13  “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.  (12)  I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.  (13)  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

I’d like to share a quote from a book called Lies Women Believe and the Truth That Sets Them Free by Nancy Leigh Demoss.

Dear child of God, your heavenly Father will never lead you anywhere that His grace will not sustain you.  He will never place more upon you than He will give you grace to bear.  When the path before you seems hopelessly long, take heart.  Lift up your eyes.  Look ahead to that day when all suffering will be over.  And remember that when you stand before Him, all the tears and sorrows of a life-time will seem dim in comparison with the beauty and glory of His face.  Without a doubt, you will say, “His amazing grace has brought me safely home.”

Your assignment for week 14:  Read Chapter 13 of The Power of a Praying Wife “His Trials”.  What touched you?  Any disagreements?  Pray that your husband will grow and learn from the trials that come.  Also, study and ruminate on Proverbs 31:22.

Leave a Reply

