My Beautiful Tie Breaker Baby :)

To my second daughter (third born),

We didn’t know if you were a boy or girl until the moment you were born!  Your brother and sister really wanted to meet you, and of course, your dad and I anxiously awaited your arrival.

Since we didn’t know what to call you, we nicknamed you “Baby Ninja”.  Why?  You were the most active of all my babies.  You kicked and moved around so much, that we decided that you must be practicing your ninja moves!

The last few months of my pregnancy with you, I was obsessed with nutrition.  I had read about how vitamin C could help keep the bag of waters intact.  My water broke before birth started with both your brother and sister, so I at an orange every morning for the last trimester.  I also only allowed myself to eat sugar and white flour once a week for the last months.

We had a lot of “false labor” with you.  I would have contractions for an hour or two, then they would go away.  My body was getting lots of practice in preparation.

We drove everyone crazy with not knowing if you were a boy or a girl, but the day finally arrived.

I was feeling pretty crampy when we went to bed about 11 on Friday.  I was waking up about every 20 minutes, and I thought it was probably just more “false labor”.  Then, I woke up around 1 a.m. on Saturday, and things kicked into gear.

Your daddy was sleeping, and he rolled over and jabbed his elbow into my stomach!  I was getting kinda irritable, and I told him that it was time to wake up and pay attention!

Contractions started at about 9 minutes apart, and they quickly progressed to 7 min, then 5.  We kinda lost track of the contractions after that.  Contractions were intense, and I had forgotten how much they hurt!

Your grandma arrived to help around 2:30 a.m, and the midwife arrived around 3:45 a.m.

Your grandma’s main job was to get the birth tub ready.  It was a difficult job because the tub was being used for the third time, it didn’t hold air very well, and the water just wouldn’t get warm enough.  I really wanted to get in the water.  Your dad and grandma finally figured out that the water heater was turned down way low.  They finally turned it up just in time for me to get in the semi-warm water.

The water helped a ton.  As soon as I was in, I had the urge to push.  Your daddy was doubting that I was ready to push, and he kept wanting the midwife to check my dilation.

She was completely wonderful and trusted me, and she told me to push when I felt ready.  I pushed once, the water broke.  I pushed again, your head came out.  The last push was your body.  When your head was out, the midwife said that you looked pretty enough to be a girl.

OH HOW WONDERFUL TO SEE MY BABY GIRL! You broke the tie, and the girls won!  You weighed 8 lb. 4 oz. and were 21 1/4 in. long.

You were born 4:25 a.m.  We had prayed that I wouldn’t hemorrhage or tear.  I didn’t do either.  In addition, I think the Vitamin-C kept the bag of waters intact!  You didn’t need to suctioned either.  You just coughed and spit up the mucous.

You were the first of our children to be born in our new house!

Your brother was all prepared to be at the birth, but it was the middle of the night.  We woke him up right after you were born.  He was so excited to meet you and be up so early in the morning.  We let your sister sleep; she doesn’t wake up so well ;).

Our dear friend who you will affectionately know as “Auntie” arrived quickly after your birth.  She was also supposed to be there for the birth, but we waited too long to call her.  She got to introduce you to your sister.  Here is the moment she met you 🙂

We are so pleased to have you as part of our family!  You are a treasure and a very sweet baby!  You are a precious gift from God!  We had a little birth-day party to celebrate your arrival.

With much love,

Your Mommy

3 thoughts on “My Beautiful Tie Breaker Baby :)

  1. How sweet! I love birth stories. Isn’t it amazing how you can forget how much contractions really hurt. I swear they have been worse with each of mine. Which makes me nervous for next time!

    We were also surprised with Neely, and had a tie-breaking girl too! How funny. Did you find out with your first two?

  2. We found out with our first two also, and since we had clothes either way the third time we thought it would be fun to be surprised. And it was. I don’t think I’d ever find out again. Yeah, it’s definitely WELL worth it.

Leave a Reply

