“His Attitude” and Proverbs 31:29

The chapter we read from The Power of a Praying Wife was “His Attitude”.

Things that touched me:

  1. Stormie writes, “No one wants to be around a person with a bad attitude.  Life is hard enough without listening to someone constantly complaining in your ear.”  Ouch!  I’ve been kinda grumpy lately and always complaining about something!  It has to stop.  Philippians 2:14  “Do all things without murmurings and disputings.”
  2. Stormie explains that she prays for someone with a bad attitude, although she doesn’t reveal who they are.  She confesses, “It took me a long time, however, to stop reacting to the negativity and start praying about it instead.”  I hope I’m not this person in other people lives.  Although, I think I am, at times, to my husband.  Don’t we all have one or a few Negative Nancies in our lives?  Let us pray for them and not respond to their negativity with more negativity.  Proverbs 26:4-5  “Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.  (5)  Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.”
  3. Stormie reminds us, “Pray that his heart becomes pure, because the Bible promises a person who has a pure heart will see God (Matthew 5:8) and have a cheerful countenance (Proverbs 15:13).”  Proverbs 15:13 says, “A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance: but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.”  Oh I do pray that my merry heart and my husband’s merry heart will result in a “cheerful countenance”.  Matthew 5:8 says, “Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.”  We know that our words come out of our heart.  If our heart is rotten, we will curse and complain and be generally malcontent.  I long to be pure of heart so that I can see God!

I didn’t find anything that I respectfully disagree with.

Proverbs 31:29 “Many daughters have done virtuously, but thou excellest them all.”

Those are words of highest praise from the Proverbs 31 man.  Can any of us actually live up to these words?

Is it all a “beauty is in the eye of the beholder” type of situation?  I mean, is it that our husbands should be convinced that we are the perfect and only woman for them?

Honestly, I do think that plays a small part of it, but no one can deny that the Proverbs 31 woman is worthy of praise.

Are you and I worthy of praise?  Should we just give up because we can never attain to all of her perfection?

Absolutely not!  We should never give up in our quest to be better for our Heavenly husband and our earthly one.

Philippians 3:12-14

Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.  (13)  Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,  (14)  I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Don’t settle for less!  Carry on in your walk with Christ without growing complacent and being happy with any mediocrity.

Your assignment for week 22:  Read Chapter 21 of The Power of a Praying Wife “His Marriage”.  What touched you?  Any disagreements?  Pray that your husband will be invested in his marriage and ready to serve Jesus in it.  Also, study and ruminate on Proverbs 31:30.

Leave a Reply

