Soaked Homemade Granola Recipe

Happy Independence Day!  It’s great to live in a free country and for my soul to be free in Jesus!

First off, I want to explain why I soak my grains.  I believe that soaking the grains cuts down on phytic acid and makes the vitamins and minerals more absorb-able.  Another blogger has explained in a little more detail, and I encourage you to look into it.  Let me know your thoughts.

Another blogger that I follow fairly closely, The Healthy Home Economist, does not endorse even soaked granola, but she does admit in the comments that “If it’s nice and soft, then it should digest fine.”  I’m happy to say that my granola is pretty soft 🙂

Okay, now for the recipe 🙂  I normally triple the recipe, but I’ll give you the normal proportions.  Also, you should know that you can make this recipe gluten-free by making it with gluten-free oats.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups oats
  • about a cup of raw soaked almonds (Really, any nut would do.  Pecans are super yummy)
  • 3 cups water
  • 6 T. lemon juice.
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 2 T organic raw cocao
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup raw honey
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1 cup dried fruit (raisins, raspberries, blueberries, etc.)

Soak the oats and nuts in water and lemon juice overnight.  The next day, bake the oat mixture at 325 F for about 40 minutes or longer.  The goal is to have the oats still wet but not too soggy.

Then mix the oat concoction with the coconut, cocao, cinnamon, ginger, and salt.

Melt 1/3 cup raw honey and 2 T. coconut oil.  Mix this warm sauce into the other ingredients.  Be careful!  Don’t burn yourself.  I do most of the mixing with my hands, so I have burnt myself.

Put the new mixture onto a cookie sheet and bake at 300 for 40 minutes, mixing the granola at 20 minutes.

Let the granola cool and add the dried fruit.

Voila!  You have yummy granola.  I store my granola in the fridge, because it will mold.  That’s how you can tell it’s healthier for you though 😉  Normally, a long shelf life means that the food doesn’t have much nutritional value.

One thought on “Soaked Homemade Granola Recipe

  1. Pingback: Soaked Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies | In Due Time Ramblings

Leave a Reply

