Soaked Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

This is very similar to my soaked homemade granola recipe, but I’m trying to cut back on pasteurized dairy.  I knew that many of my friends were cutting out pasteurized dairy, but I guess I had to see it with my own eyes before I started making the step.

We do homeschooling, and as part of our curriculum, my son had to do an experiment with milk.  He had to put a small jar of milk in the fridge and one on the counter.  He had to hypothesize about which one would turn bad first.  So, he got our Organic milk from the fridge and proceeded with the project.  Lo and behold after over a week, the milk on the counter still had not turned bad!  That just ain’t right!

I will note that we were using ultra pasteurized organic milk.   That does make a large difference.  You will notice the presence of kefir, whey, buttermilk and yoghurt in the recipe.  I’d recommend the raw variety or just the lemon juice 🙂

As the result of our little experiment, I came up with a modification that doesn’t require milk over it.  🙂

Note:  You can easily make this gluten free with gluten free oats and dairy free by using the lemon juice.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • water
  • 8 T whey, kefir, buttermilk, yoghurt, or lemon juice
  • 1 smashed banana
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup flax-seed meal
  • 1 T ginger
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 2/3 cup walnuts or other nuts (I used slivered almonds)
  • 2 T cocao nibs

The night before, place 4 cups of oats in a pot along with 4 cups of water and 8 T of either whey, kefir, buttermilk, yoghurt, or lemon juice.  Cover the pot and let the oats soak.

Soaked oatsThe next day, cook the oats for about 5 minutes or to your desired consistency.  I like to make it fairly thick without too much watery consistency.

Put your cooked oatmeal into a big bowl.

In a small pot on the stove, add the honey and coconut oil.  Cook until a liquid.

Oil and honeyAdd the resulting liquid to the cooked oatmeal.

Freshly ground flaxseedAdd all the rest of the ingredients to the bowl, except raisins, walnuts, and cocao.  I always add the eggs last, in hopes they don’t cook because of the hot oatmeal.  🙂

Mix in the raisins, nuts, and cocao.

adding chunksLine a cookie sheet or two with parchment paper.

Plop the oatmeal mixture onto the parchment paper lined cookie sheets.  In my house this recipe normally fills about 5 cookie sheets 🙂  You might have to make a few batches.

UncookedCook the cookies at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 35 minutes.

cooked dscf7014The result should be a crispy outside with yummy tasting mushy oatmeal in the inside.  I made the recipe big so that I can have a week’s worth of breakfasts for my family of 6.  I store the leftover cookies in the fridge and heat what we want in the toaster oven each morning.  We’ve decided that they taste the best warm.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Soaked Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

